top of page

"Mixed Multitudes" - Exodus 12:38


Counted with the Stars by Connilyn Cossette #1 in the Out of Egypt series Published 2016 by Bethany House Publishers Genre: Christian, Fiction, Historical, Egypt - Fiction, Romance 5 Stars!

Summary/Description

Sold into slavery by her father and forsaken by the man she was supposed to marry, young Egyptian Kiya must serve a mistress who takes pleasure in her humiliation. When terrifying plagues strike Egypt, Kiya is in the middle of it all. Connilyn Cossette is one of the very best Biblical fiction authors! The first in the Out of Egypt series, Counted with the Stars, is an incredible story and written in such a remarkable way that all my senses are engaged. From the feel of a papyrus mat under my feet to the smell of the multitude of frogs to a damp and dark room -- the details of this story had me totally captured. The development and growth of each character were well researched and authentically represented.

Counted with the Stars kept me turning the pages with anticipation, excitement, and sometimes fear. My emotions were on a rollercoaster ride as Kiya lived out the adventure the author created -- while using Scripture as the foundation and boundaries for this Biblical fiction work of art.

One amazing feature that stands out to me in Counted with the Stars is Biblical characters are mentioned and woven into the story, but the author did not take liberty to “enhance” or “change” or make me believe anything other than what is written in God’s Word about them. That takes talent and skill -- and a heart for God and His word. Likewise, the non-Biblical characters in this book were so real and likely to have been similar to someone who lived in that region at that time. Simply ah-mazing! :)


Reading a book such a Counted with the Stars, I am drawn closer to God with a new, better, and clearer understanding and “experience” of the Biblical time period of which this book covers. I truly thank God for this author, and I continually pray for her and her family.


When I finished this book, I look heavenward and repeated a line from the book: “What grace I had been shown today …”


bottom of page