top of page

A Spiritual Uplifting & Emotionally Engaging Masterpiece


Ladies of the Lake earns a rock-solid five-star rating! Readers who love L. M. Montgomery and Louisa May Alcott will fall in love with the well-developed characters, the storylines, and the writing style. The skillful author, Cathy Gohlke, spins principles of love, forgiveness, war, communication, acceptance, bullying, hope, fears, and spiritual and emotional panoramas of relationships.


The author’s passion for women to cultivate women-sisterhood through friendships, mentoring, and companionships while looking at the beautifully painted ties we see in the Bible and in literature is on full display in this fantastic book!


From the beautiful cover to the introductions and growth of the charming characters to the intertwined storylines, this novel is a spiritually uplifting and emotionally engaging masterpiece with many heart-captivating moments. I genuinely lost hours of sleep because I wanted to keep reading!


To avoid spoilers, I do not give story details. With that in mind, let me just say that I genuinely believe that God orchestrates a “Mrs. Simmons” into each of our lives -- or makes us the “Mrs. Simmons” in another’s life -- in His perfect timing. For that, I am eternally grateful!


I so greatly appreciate how Scripture is included. There is nothing missing from this inspiring, God-honoring fictional novel which includes tidbits and inspiration from true historical events and the author’s family stories.


Surrendering all to God, loving Jesus, obeying Him, and treating others as we would like to be treated are the first steps in cultivating the best and enduring relationships. Like the author of Ladies of the Lake, I pray that each reader of Ladies of the Lake be reminded to “thank our Heavenly Father for another day, for breath, for ears to hear, for eyes to see, and for those we love.”


I received an eARC of Ladies of the Lake from Tyndale House Publishers through NetGalley.com. I am not required to write a review nor am I paid to do so. The words above are my honest review of this fantastic book.

bottom of page